Help choosing lens for Nikon FM2n

Gallotti

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I just bought my first film camera, a Nikon FM2-N. But it just came with the body. I wish you could help me choosing suitable lens.
I've been reading a lot about lenses, since I had no knowledge beforehand (my current camera is a Sony RX-100 with fixed lens), but remains very difficult to decide because there are dozens of models.
From what I read, the recommendations are mostly for 50mm lens, but as I said before, my current camera is a RX-100 which has 35mm equivalent lens and one its major negative points if the lack of zoom. Despite having bought that film camera to deepen my knowledge in photography, I intend to use both camera and do not know when I will buy my next lenses, then some zoom would be ideal, but I do not know whether they are good and fit my budget.
My budget is about $ 50 to $ 100, I'm a poor student :blushing:

Thanks in advance!:heart:

Last edited:
A trio of a 28mm, 50mm and 135mm primes will go a long way. You can also keep an eye out for a good-condition 'street-sweeper' 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6 D lens.

Just about any lens Nikon has made, with the exception of the current line of G-class lenses, will work on it. As a general rule, the D-series lenses are better than the older Ai glass. If budget is a huge issue, look into the E-series lenses.

I suggest prime lenses, that is, fixed focal lengths such as 24,28,35,50, 85,105,135mm. Buy only Nikkor lenses. Your camera will accept Nikon AI, AIS and AF mount types but you only need the AI type for the FM3A.

Thank you for the replies,
So do you think that is possible to get more than one lens with this budget?
What is the average price for one of these used lenses? I just looked at the Nikkon website the brand new AI manual focus 50mm are selling for 800 pounds, that scared me a little bit!