Help deciding - G7/Leica/ or other for a photographer

pictureEVERYTHING

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all... I want to partake of your combined knowlege if I may.

First let me give you some background. I've been shooting for the last 10 years and have hopes to soon start getting paid for my passion. While I have loved photography for a long time I've been using ALOT of the same equipment with little being upgraded. Anywho... I'm switching everything over to digital. The latest SLR I have owned is a Nikon N65, I'm also pretty accustomed to shooting on a Nikon F3 that I used to borrow from a friend.
So basically I'm looking for something to replace my N65 in the digital realm.
I plan to buy a pro-level slr here in the next year or so when finances permit... so I'm NOT asking for something that I can use to shoot proffesionaly. I'm looking for something to be my personal camera. Something I will carry with me all the time and go on short day trips taking pictures and such.
I'm pretty big on landscapes right now especially wide angle and panoramics. I also have a serious soft spot for portraits and macro shots. Black and white is always one of my favorites and I seriously wish they made digital cams that had not only a B/W mode but also a silver gelatin mode!!!

So!!! My question to you is... what do you reccomend? I'm caught right now between a Canon Powershot G7 and a Leica D-lux 3. I am DEFINATELY looking for something with an attatched lens that is decently flexible... like I said, the SLR will come later. And I want at least one camera that I don't have to worry about sensor dust with.
Originally the G7 looked very attractive... and even though this shouldn't be much of a factor, I really like the size and styling of the body. It reminds me of the rangefinders and slrs of old, and that makes me smile. '