Help Deciding Lenses/Camera

Dm3k1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well for the camera I think I am set on picking up the Nikon D80 (I'm a fan of the Canon 30D and XTi as well). I have very little photography experience but i think it is something I would like to get into. I've worked with these cameras for 3 years (selling them, Best Buy/Circuit City) so I have a feel for the cameras and I play with them all the time.

I'm getting the D80 (could be swayed to the 40x or 200) mainly because I have accommadations through Nikon which gives me the camera at below what the store pays for it. I originally looked at the D40/40x but am turned off by the innability to manually adjust some things. Which is why I think I have made my mind to eat the cost and get the D80 (since if I do get into this I would be re-purchasing either the 80 or the 200). Good Choice?

Secondly and most importantly (the reason why I came here) I am stuck on the lenses to get. Now, I think I want to get the kit that comes with the 18-135 lens since it seems like a good value. I love the 18-200VR (used at the store) but it's not an option on accomadations. I originally planned on getting the new 70-300VR lens which is on the list at a very low price of $345. I think maybe I can get the 18-200 lens for about 650 with my discount. I've heard that the 70-300 is a great lens for a dedicated telephoto but the 18-200 is much more usefull (i know the 300 distorts past 200) and that the 18-200 is much better for capturing moving subjects (of some importance to me).