Help! Interior Shots of Large Products - Adverse Lighting

Strawberrie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I humbly plea for your advice and wisdom...:angel:

I am not a professional photographer, but I do understand some of the very basics of photography - exposure, aperature, et al. Somehow I found myself in a position where I desperately need high quality product shots for my design work at an office furniture (cubicle) company. :chatty:

The only problem is that our "showroom" is set up in a warehouse with awful overhead lighting that overpowers my umbrella lights and causes color casts. I have the option of setting up outdoors, but I'm worried about time limitations (not being able to shoot when the sun is harsh).:-|

My challenges are:
1) Creating attractive lighting for large block shaped objects...
2) Combinations of dark light absorbing fabric panels and light somewhat reflective work surfaces in close proximity...
3) Setting with no natural light and flourescents...
4) Composing dynamic images from square and somewhat symmetrical set ups.

My tools are a SLR digital camera (Canon E-300), 2 umbrella lights, and a backdrop. Oh - and repsectable Photoshop skills. I have a small budget that would allow me to add things if they would help.

Before I arrived at our company a professional photographer was hired and produced the following (this is the nicest of the images)::thumbdown:

6x6.jpg

Again, I'm no expert, but to me this picture is attrocious. It is completely lacking "draw", the props are out of place and oogly, and is not how I want our products portrayed.

I would like to reproduce the essence of the picture below (not ours). It is warm and well lit yet not harsh with enough shadows to be interesting.:thumbup:

Warmth.jpg

Is there an easy way to set up some kind of simple to construct/deconstruct "studio"?

I would greatly value any input, suggestions, tricks, guidance, or outright condemnation. :mrgreen:

canon E-300? I never heard of it! but never mind...