Help...Macro/Micro Lens for Nikon

wolfercatt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just purchased a D5100 with 18-55mm lens. Would like to move towards macro/micro photography. I am looking at the 70-300mm Nikkor VR II lens, but wonder if I should be purchasing a different lens for the close ups I prefer. I am confused as I am very new to this hobby and there are many options and not that many explanations in the differences/advantages. :hail: Any insight/advice would be appreciated. Thanks! :)

Actually your Nikkor AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens already offers weak 1:3.2 macro. You can get even better, but it will cost ya. A LOT.

A relatively cheap option would be the AF-S 85mm f/3.5 VR. It has image stabilization, that will help with handheld macro.

You might also want to invest into a tripod thats able to fix the camera in really close position, and/or a macro flash (its a ring around the lens, so the flash can focus really closely).

Thanks Solarflare! I have a tripod, and am willing to spend. I just don't know what to spend on. The macro I currently have doesn't come close to what I am ultimately looking for. I will look into the 85mm lens and macro flash now :) Can you offer any insight regarding teleconverters/extension tubes...education sources maybe..hahaha? Books?

Macro really DOESN'T have to cost you A LOT. I use the Tokina 100mm macro lens--it's an awesome lens, pretty easy to learn macro on, and I bought mine used for about $350. The Tokina gives you the 1:1 ratio you need for true macro.

I also have Kenko extension tubes, and they are definitely an option, although I greatly prefer my macro lens, personally.
If you do go with extension tubes, don't get the cheap knockoffs that don't have contact points to "communicate" with the camera.