Help me find a camera

dmf985

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm trying to find a camera, but I'm having difficulties finding one which fits my needs. Especially since I don't really know anything about photography, namely the terminology which I would need to search for... So I'm probably more of a difficult person to find a camera for. I'm not a professional, nor do I aspire to be one. I don't often take pictures, and I've made it by fine so far with a cheap 5MP camera from walmart. This past winter though I kind of crashed my skidoo and it was in my chest pocket, which then went into the handlebars... So a new one is in order. Here's my needs:

Capable of changing exposure time - There was a fantastic view of the arm of the milky way fading into the northern lights on the horizon of a lake the other week and I wished I had a camera that could take a good picture of it.

Not bulky - I like taking my camera with me when I go out skidooing and hiking and what have you, so something that could fit into a pocket.

Able to take something of a beating. As mentioned above, I'm active with it. It doesn't have to withstand a crash, but nothing fragile would do.

Cheap - Like I said before I don't take many pictures and I do not profess to be a photographer. So no expensive cameras.

Waterproof would be nice, but not really needed.

It doesn't have to take phenomenal pictures. Just your average ones. 10+ MP would be plenty probably. I looked for a while, but then I figured, hey the internet is full of people who love photography, and are experts in this sort of thing. Why not get some suggestions from them? They'll know a heck of a lot more than any Walmart employee. So there's that. What sort of camera should I be looking for? Thanks in advance.

What IS your budget?
Repeat after me: Megapixels don't matter. Really. They don't. Unless you are printing a billboard to be viewed at point blank range, you don't need even 10MP, so quit worrying about megapixels.