Help me pick a camera system

supra89t

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My Mother-In-Law has just blessed me with a gift of $1500 that she has specified must be spent on camera equipment. I need your help (opinions) in picking out the best setup for me and my preferences.

I am not a newb to shooting but I am far from an expert. I was a photog for my college yearbook and have been shooting since high school. My first real camera was a Canon EOS Rebel XS, 1996. That is the camera that I used in college. When I graduated from college, my parents bought me a 1D-HS and it was WAY too much camera for me. I loved the frame-rate, but film is expensive, so that feature was not used as much as I would have liked. I ended up selling it and getting a 20D after I got married. I really liked my 20D, but it had to be sold when we got into a financial crunch. I like the rapid frame-rate and the rock-solid feel of the camera. I did not like the tiny screen and the fact that it was mounted in the camera crooked.

I currently own, and am willing to sell to offset cost:
Canon EOS Rebel XS (1996)
Canon EOS Elan II E (yr ?)
Canon 35-80mm F4.0-5.6 (kit lens)
Vivitar Series 1 19-35mm F3.5-4.5
Quantaray 70-300mm Macro F4-5.6
Quantaray 2x TC

My favorite things to shoot are:
Macro (insect, interesting angles, etc...)
Fast-action (my dogs playing, sports, new baby making faces)
Wildlife
Composed landscapes (sunsets, etc...)

Features I think are important or would really like to have:
Self-cleaning sensor
Wireless remote control
Video-out to plug into TV
Live-view
Top-view LCD (I am used to this and it has been hard for me to get used to cameras without one)
Built-in AF lamp (not a big deal, just a minor preference)
good low-light focusing

I know that good glass makes more of a difference in how the pictures are going to come out than the actual camera nowadays (for the most part).

Looking at my lens lineup, there are a few glaring omissions: