Help me understand ISO - it's confusing the hell out of me?

Primarily being a Landscape photographer, I would agree with your choice of a tripod over ISO. Am I afraiid of ISO, No, I've used up to ISO 1600 on landscapes when the situation arises. But I don't when I don't.

Will things like what lightspeed suggests happen? Absolutely, that's why you have a brain and a choice of ISO's and you use what you need when you need.

When I am shooting Concerts, I use the crap out of ISO...sooo

Good ISO 800 colour neg film these days, like Portra 800, has very low graininess unlike ISO 800 of a decade or so ago (it isn't actually grain that you see, so it is called 'graininess' because it only looks like grain). You will probably find that if you have a tripod you can keep the ISO down to 200 or less for landscape photography, particularly with small format cameras (ie 35 mm and below). Even hand held, which is how I shoot landscape with small format (if I'm going to carry a tripod I may as well shoot medium or large format), I hardly ever need to go above ISO 400 when the sun is over the horizon. Look at how much great landscape work the Nat Geo photographers did with ISO 25 and 64 film.

If you do use a tripod you might find that a little motion blur of leaves and branches etc gives a good representation of how the world actually was at the time, or you may not. In practice it may not matter much because even with low ISOs exposure times never get very long on small format during the daylight hours - you usually have to use an ND filter if you want motion blur, and some people do want motion blur of course.

The best way is to try higher ISOs and see for yourself.

If noise and grain fall under the category "unwanted artefacts" I think we will agree on the category LOL