Status
Not open for further replies.

SilliG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
HELP!

Well hello I am new to this forum. I have been shooting my D90 w/ 50mm 1.8 for awhile now on auto mostly and a bit on Aperture Priority. I ordered my new Nikon D800 it came in yesterday. I am pretty thrown off by the controls on the camera to start off with but now there is no AUTO mode?? Is there anyway to shoot on auto in the meantime while I learn to shoot manually. I know I spent 3k and I know nothing about photography. Well I always wanted full frame and I work hard for my money and want to get the full potential out of this new body. I am a hobbist not a pro and a noob. Thts why I have been shooting on Auto mostly my crutch has gone. Someone please help me or send me a tutorial!!

SilliG said:
HELP!

Well hello I am new to this forum. I have been shooting my D90 w/ 50mm 1.8 for awhile now on auto mostly and a bit on Aperture Priority. I ordered my new Nikon D800 it came in yesterday. I am pretty thrown off by the controls on the camera to start off with but now there is no AUTO mode?? Is there anyway to shoot on auto in the meantime while I learn to shoot manually. I know I spent 3k and I know nothing about photography. Well I always wanted full frame and I work hard for my money and want to get the full potential out of this new body. I am a hobbist not a pro and a noob. Thts why I have been shooting on Auto mostly my crutch has gone. Someone please help me or send me a tutorial!!

You do realize not many people have the d800? Just read the manual in chunks.

To be quite honest, there isn't a way. If you were still using auto then you weren't ready for the d800. Read your manual. It will take some getting used to. Learn the exposure triangle and try to use a DOF calculator until you get the hang of things.

If its too much camera for you, I'll take it off your hands for free ;)

Send me the camera, I'll make you some videos.