help me with my first medium format camera

dfa19799

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good day, I'm new to the forum! I'm also new to photography and I'd love some advice about getting a medium format camera. Ideally, I'd like to go for a slightly older system because I've read this is an economical option (not as in-demand as newer cameras and digital systems). I'm straight out of university and can't spend too too much, but I'd still rather pay more for quality than skimp. Would you have any ideas about models, or other advice? Thank you so much!

Blad Composite 2 by longm1985, on Flickr

:D My kinda thread!

Hasselblad is, in my opinion at least, the highest quality you can get. Here's the thing: you can put one together on KEH for less than you can get a complete outfit anywhere. Here's my list of recommendations to start out:

https://www.keh.com/225307/hasselbl...for-hasselblad-500-series-v-system-bayonet-50

The "UG" ones most likely look better than you might think. That's been my experience.

https://www.keh.com/225400/hasselblad-500cm-chrome-medium-format-camera-body

https://www.keh.com/225104/hasselblad-manual-focus-a16s-chr

There you have a 6x4.5 option, giving you 16 exposures on a roll of 120. Otherwise, there's regular 6x6 backs all over. Again, this is just my opinion as I love Hasselblad and am horribly biased.

Mamiya C series like 220 or 330 might be more cost effective. Even Rolleiflex, bit less flexible, fixed lens camera, would be excellent choice for medium format beginner. Or how about that ?
https://www.keh.com/226521/fuji-medium-format-gs645s-pro-60-f4-49
https://www.keh.com/226535/fuji-medium-format-gw690ii-90-f3-5-67
You have to remember, that the older systems shoot on film and shooting film will cost you on ongoing bases and create a whole host of problems you might be not expecting. However, film has own charm, worth trying. :thumbup: