HELP! Need advice ASAP

photographyfanatic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.thephotographyfanatic.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all! So I am a photographer that specializes in band and music photography. Currently I tour with one particular band. This past weekend I was shooting a show of theirs and I was supposed to be the only pro shooting. Apparently there were two others who went ahead and photographed even though the band told them they were not allowed to shoot. One of these photographers has now posted photos of this show on facebook and his website. The artist does not want them posted or used. The band has overall say on those images being used right? If they photographed without permission then the photographer has no rights to those photos right? Also even if they did have permission to photograph doesn't the artist or band ultimately control the use of their image? Any help is hugely appreciated and any links that can be provided for a breakdown of the law on this is welcomed! Thank you!

I'd suggest talking to a lawyer...in the area where this occurred.

Of the top of my head, the band probably can't do much here. It's not up to them as to whether photographer is allowed or not (not directly anyway) it is probably up to the owner of the venue, provided that it is privately owned...if it was a public place, they probably have nothing to go on.

So if other photographers were shooting, it's up to the venue to ask them to stop, leave or charge them with trespassing if they don't. I'm not sure that the venue (or the band) have any say over photos that have been taken. (provided it's not an invasion of their 'reasonable expectation of privacy'...but since they were on stage and not in their shower, I doubt that comes into play.