Help needed! Strange mount on SOM Berthiot Lenses...

apneaphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone. Complete noob to the forums here, hoping this is the right section to post this.
A friend of mine recently acquired a huge lot of vintage camera gear from the widow of a shop owner. I have been helping him sort through the stuff trying to find out what is useable and what is worthless. In addition to the hundreds of items of which I have no idea their use or value, I came across these SOM Berthiot lenses with some strange threads on the end. I have spent a ton of time doing research and am completely stumped. Now, this may be a completely stupid question, but what type of mounts are these? Everything I have seen refers to either a C or D mount which this appears to be neither one of. Thanks for any advice, these lenses appear to be high quality and I would very much like to find out how to use them or at least what this mount fits into. :thumbup: :D

$som1.jpg

$som2.jpg

If you can't figure it out, at least it looks like it would function well as a boat anchor.

Edit: In all seriousness, try the following:
1) Take the current lens off your DSLR in a clean-ish environment
2) dial this lens to infinity focus, according to the focus control
3) Hold it hovering in front of your camera and move it back and forth until/if you can see something in focus at infinity out of your window

You might not ever see anything in focus at infinity. if so, it probably means this lens would have to be inside your camera to get inf. focus. And you're out of luck.