Help on a Tower Camera

xHOBOPHOBIAx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have recently found an old Tower 584. 91891 camera in my dads shop. Everything seems to be working great on it, but I have no clue how to use it. I am VERY new to this type of camera and would like any info on working it that anyone can provide.

Thank you very much.

It looks like this
tower-1.jpg

Your movie camera uses 8mm film. Few camera stores offer it nowadays, perhaps B&H. If you're pretty nostalgic about it and want to give it a try, go for it although few (fewer and fewer) places process it. If you want to sell it, eBay might make you about $15 to $20.

Are you also looking for a manual?

It's a movie camera.

You get film for it from John Schwind.

internationalfilm

The film is 16mm wide and comes in 25 foot spools. You shoot 25 feet, then swap the feed and take up spools and shoot another 25 feet. When it's processed the lab slits it down the middle and splices the two pieces together so you get a 50 foot reel 8mm wide.

To view it you'll need to either buy a projector (eBay) or have the lab or someone else copy it to videotape or DVD (a process called telecine). A popular color film for the camera is Kodak 100D. Dwayne's Photo in Parsons, KS is a good lab for 100D processing and telecine.

A trusted name in photo processing for over 50 years - Dwayne's Photo

John Schwind can tell you where to get B&W processed.

Thanks for the info. Yes I am looking for a manual. It has a 8mm projector with it, so if I do ever us it, I will be able to watch the film.

What do you mean by "You shoot 25 feet, then swap the feed and take up spools and shoot another 25 feet"

Your movie camera uses 8mm film....