Help! Panasonic Lumix FZ28 accessories

Wildlife girl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
I am a newbie, and basically new to digital photography. In fact, I'm even rusty with my old (non digital) Canon Rebel!

I'm taking a trip to Alaska in June and have to decided to get a good, but affordable digital camera. Zoom is important to me, so I have decided to get the Panasonic Lumix FZ28. I'm not sure where yet, prices vary widely.

I also will need some accessories. I definitely want a telephoto lens, wide angle lens, adaptor, polarizing lens, extra battery, battery charger, cleaning kit, camera bag and strap, memory card, memory reader, and lens cleaning kit. I know that's a lot!

My problem is, I want the lenses to be decent quality, but can't afford a lot. I don't know what brands to look for or where to get them. I have seen the camera offered with a kit of all my needed accessories in various places, but in reviews I've read, the accessories often turn out to be garbage.

I really could use your help! I know you all know what you're talking about, so that's why I came here. I hope to stay and continue to learn all I can.

Thanks in advance! :D
Tracy

Okay, need to add/change a couple things!

I thought the telephoto and wide angle lens would be good for photographing wildlife and scenery in Alaska, but now I am reading some accounts that maybe these lenses don't work well on a camera like the Lumix FZ28. I don't want to lessen my image quality. Thoughts?

Also, I should have mentioned, my TOTAL camera budget, everything included, is a sad $500.

I am trying to get the very best camera for my needs in this budget. I was able to get some great photos on a trip to Africa back in '97-'98, by using a good zoom lens, so I knew I would need strong zoom on this trip too to get better wildlife shots.