Help photos blurry!!!

5100d

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi
Im new to the DSLR world. I recently bought a Nikon 5100d kit with dx 18-55mm Vr lens.
Im using the camera in the M mode. The problem is when viewed at 100% all zoomed in photos as well as close-up/near/macro photos are super detailed and sharp but all photos of landscapes and distant (still) subjects are sort of blurry and not sharp. I've tried all settings: shutter speeds ranging from 1/400 - 1/1000 and f stops ranging from f5.6 to f18 and higher using tripod etc - the results are disappointing. Basically if the subject is more than a few meters away the image is not that sharp. Autofocus and VR is on and Ive also tried switching between the 11 different focus points, focus mode etc etc. I ran out of ideas. Could it be my new camera came with faulty lens?? Please help!

Could you post a couple of images for analysis? One thing; if you're using a tripod, turn off your VR, as the VR becomes "confused" when the camera isn't moving.

Hi guys thanks! VR if off with Tripod. Im trying to upload images on here for your reference how do i do that?? I dont have the "attach files" option box at the bottom of the message.

Also If I change the sharpness of the photos within the camera options will that increase the noise in the photos?

Use flickr, photobucket or something similar and upload the images there.
Then get the link to the image and post it up here using the Image icon in your post to put the tags around the url.

Sharpness and noise? I dont think so. Although technically if you start to sharpen actual noise in post processing you risk making it more visible, but I think this is beyond what you are looking for.

Can't really say much else without actual images

They look fine to me.