Help RE: night time photography

Johnrobbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello there,

I am new to the world of Photography, my Dad recently bought me a digital Camera; Casio Exilim EX-Z750.

I went to London a few days back and tried taking photos of the London Eye, houses of Parliament etc from across the river but got nothing but blurs and/or incredibly dark photos. Even when i put the camera on the wall and used the self-timer. I used a variety of the preset settings under their "best shot" setting but nothing worked all that well.

Can someone please help me to setup my camera for night time photography because Im sure a camera of this expense is not totally out of depth once the sun goes down!

Thank you,
JR

If you post a couple of examples then it might be easier to see where things have gone wrong...

Generally for night photography:

Use a tripod
Use automatic exposure aperture priority mode (if you've got it)
Set the aperture fairly small f8 is good, f11+ and you'll probably get starbusts from the lights
Make sure there are enough bright things in the frame to get an exposure (generally about ten seconds to five minutes is good) Any longer and cities will have pink or orange skies (rather than black).

Rob

Googling your camera lead me to your problem.
Your shutter speeds are 60 to 1/1600, if I'm reading it right your lowest shutter speed is 60 wich is sometimes too fast for night shots.
What I would recomend is that 1 experiment with the nightscene program of your camera at dusk and at night.
2 manualy do the following:
set the ISO to 400
set the lowest setting of shutter speed
set the lowest Fstop number
now since you can't go lower than 60 you'll have to take your photos in the afternoon when the sun is setting, that way there is enough light still to get some details.