HELP? Re-sizing for prints???

sunny16

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys!

Let me just clear up that I am a noob.

Now... I took some pics on my dslr for a friend. We went to print them off and the 4x6 prints were pretty much good, but the 8x10 prints were cropped significantly around the edge. Before I saved them onto her usb, I photoshopped them and saved them as a large file (12 max). Is that wrong? What can i do to make sure my 8x10 will print without severe cropping?

Not sure if this matters, but I am using a D5100 and a 50mm 1.8 lens.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Before I saved them onto her usb, I photoshopped them and saved them as a large file (12 max). Is that wrong?

Having photoshop save then as a large file is not going to change the aspect ratio of the photo.

What can i do to make sure my 8x10 will print without severe cropping?

Simply put if you want a image from a DSLR to completely fill an 8x10 it has to be cropped. When having prints made you should do the cropping yourself so that you have the control over how it is cropped. Or print to an aspect ratio that does not require cropping.

You need to save them in the appropriate aspect ratio. A 4x6 is a 2:3 ratio, where as an 8x10 is a 4:5 ratio. Pretty much every editing application will allow you to save in whichever aspect ratio you required, but you will have to crop since your camera's sensor is a 2:3 ratio.

You need to save them in the appropriate aspect ratio. A 4x6 is a 2:3 ratio, where as an 8x10 is a 4:5 ratio. Pretty much every editing application will allow you to save in whichever aspect ratio you required, but you will have to crop since your camera's sensor is a 2:3 ratio.
How do I do that?

You crop some off the long side of the 3:2 (4x6, 8x12, 10x15)
Is the print a horizontal 10x8, or a vertical 8x10?

Since a 3:2 image would be an 12x8 (a 2:3 image would be an 8x12), you have to crop 2 inches from the long side.