Help, reflective or shoot through umbrella?

cleveland

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello.
I'm new to taking the next step towards more "professional" photography.
I need to purchase lighting and umbrellas.
What is the difference between reflective umbrellas and shoot through umbrellas, besides the obvious?
Which is better to use and what are the advantages and disadvantages?
Thanks for the advice...
-Alexander

Shoot throught give you a more diffused light

Reflected is more efficient

The character of light is different

You can put the shoot through really close to the face, when with reflected you're limited by the umbrella rod.

A photography instructor I had...said that he never shoots through...only reflects. I've heard others say this as well. Some of them don't like the shadows caused by the umbrella's ribs. If your budget allows...softboxes allow more control of the light than umbrellas. A lot pros will use only soft boxes and no umbrellas at all.

Here is a link that has examples of many different types of lighting modifiers.

DocFrankenstein said:
Shoot throught give you a more diffused light

Reflected is more efficient

The character of light is different

You can put the shoot through really close to the face, when with reflected you're limited by the umbrella rod.

Unfortunately diffusion doesn't soften the light. What does that is the size of the light source relative to the subject. Reality is that a reflective umbrella softens the the light more because it creates a larger source. Getting the light source closer does soften the light for the same reason. None of it has anything to do with diffusion.