Help selecting right lenses for desired field of depth result?

J Crew

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello everyone... great forum and i'm glad that i was able to find you all. i'm an amerature videographer and have done some weddings and other special events over the years. but my wife has picked up photography as a hobby so i recently bought her a rebel xti digital camera (body only): http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=6222&A=details&Q=&sku=457506&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation
and then bought her a canon telephoto 28-135 lense: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=Search&A=details&Q=&sku=149629&is=USA&addedTroughType=search#goto_itemInfo

i bought her some beginning photography books and am signing her up for some classes at a local junior college where we live. my question is helping me buy the correct lenses she needs. i will be completely honest... i want to save money. i want her to develope a technique first and learn how to used the different lenses before i spend $1,000 - $5,000 per lense. i'm willing to spend the money, but want to make sure it's a sound investment and not a short lived hobby that has drained our bank account.

i would like to get her atleast one more lense, but am unsure what to buy. we both like this style of photography: http://www.photoreflect.com/pr3/ThumbPage.aspx?e=2396394&g=00&s=100 ... these are pictures taken of me and my family by our photographer. my wife would like a lense that has a narrow focal range (?) and will show depth well. basically, strongly focused on subject and everything either in front or behind will be blurred to some degree. any shooting tips and suggestions on a good starting lense that's not crazy expensive will be much appreciated. thanks again.

- Jason

ps - here's a link to our photographers website: http://www.raeleytham.com/index2.php
we just love her photograph's and her style. my wife would like to shoot photos in a similar style.