Help understanding/choosing flash unit.

devaji108

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,
I am pretty new to photography and would like to get in to flash photog. I am watching a few videos like the nikon school for creative lighting, reading Joe Mcnally book hot shoe diaries along with his lighting video and loving it!

so the question i have is picking the "right" flash unit for a beginner i have the Nikon D5100 and just learned that i can't use the built in flash as a master to control for the off camera slave unit/units.

the Nikon units are out of my price range, all though I bet they are really nice. what I am looking for is great swivel/tilt angle, ability to control form the master or better yet the camera, couple channels with the ability to control each and of course wireless....

was looking at this unit on amazon:
Amazon.com: Yongnuo YN-560 II Speedlight Flash for Canon and Nikon. GN58.: Camera & Photo

but looks likes I need a wireless trigger and have to manually set eat flash correct?

any and all feedback would be great!
Cheers
Deva

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
SINCE YOUR camera cannot act as a wireless commander, yes, either a wireless trigger, or a long PC synchronization cord (like say a 10-meter cord for $12.99-$19.99 from flashzebra.com or eBay) would both work as a way to do off-camera flash. Your D5100 does not have a PC synchronization port either....so, to connect a PC cord to that camera, one needs a Nikon AS-15, or the generic equivalent, OR a cord that has a hotshoe-type foot that goes into the camera's shoe, and then a connector that fits one's flash at the other end.,