Help: Whats the best pics to take with the equipment?

Eddie666

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I am a complete noob and have this equipment: -

D40x with 18-55mm AND 55-200mm lens

What would you suggest are the best pics to take with these lenses and camera and also some settings tips would be greatly appreciated!

I have spent time getting used to the camera and am thinking of getting a tri-pod as some pictures I want to take have long shutter speeds so need to keep it still but any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks all in advance!

anything you want. :)

anything you want. :)

Thanks lol.

What I meant was that I'd like to take detailed pictures of aanimals but with the equipment I have, it is difficult to get such a good close up of them (they run away if you get too close)

Also extreme zoomed pictures interest me but I can't afford a decent macro lense at the mo. So Wondering what would be best. Although, you do make a lot of sense :lol:

You dont need a macro... you need a telephoto. By a 2X converter (nikon maybe 1.7X) for your 55-200. Good place to start.There are some singma lenses that does 50-400 for about $1K. Not to bad and if you had a converter... your getting even closer. If you dont want to pring for a new lenses a converter is the only way to go. Also check into a used lens. Not a bad route if from a reputable board or store.

I'm going to have to second the "anything you want" comment. Shooting animals can be tricky and you do need patients. Getting lenses that are used for wildlife photography can be very, very expencive (I just looked at B&H for a decent 600mm zoom - 7,000 dollars. And that's the cheap one!).