Help with camera settings

hdukphotographs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
hduk-photographs.deviantart.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm really new to portrait photography but my aunt wants me to take professional pics of her daughter going to a prom.I am really worried about making mistakes and was hoping someone could tell me the perfect settings for my camera (canon eos 350d)

I will be taking indoor and outdoor shots

Welcome to the forum.

There are no perfect settings. There is only the 'correct' settings to use in the light you are working with...and even then, correct is a pretty loose term.

I'm really new to portrait photography but my aunt wants me to take professional pics of her daughter going to a prom.I am really worried about making mistakes and was hoping someone could tell me the perfect settings for my camera (canon eos 350d)

I will be taking indoor and outdoor shots
I am not sure I understand you have a very amature camera and don't know how to set it how are you going to take "professional" pictures.

I am not sure I understand you have a very amature camera and don't know how to set it how are you going to take "professional" pictures.

I understand the basic of the camera its a new one but i was just looking for some tips to make my portrait shots better.I dont usually shoot people.

JIP I know a local profession who shoots on a D60 which is pretty much equivalent to the 350D :). The professional bit comes into do you have the support equipment. I.e. Fast lens for low-light. Studio lighting even. You can achieve very "professional" photos even on some very basic equipment.

I am not sure I understand you have a very amature camera and don't know how to set it how are you going to take "professional" pictures....

mmm... i beg to differ... i have some pretty nice shots taken from my 350d... sure i have a 5d now, but quality wise - i think the 350 takes a great photo.... or maybe it is the photographer not the camera???