Help with catalog quality photos

bmswv

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a total noob and honestly know nothing about photography (please keep this in mind when trying to answer my question), but I came here to hopefully get the advice I need. I have a little business where I sell imported hand-made jewelry and I'm trying make my pictures look more professional. I recently purchased a small light tent thinking it would solve my problem, but it hasn't really helped. I'm having a problem getting both the front and back of the bracelets in focus. I have them laying flat, and taking the picture straight on. I'll take about 50 pictures, making slight adjustments each time and I'll only get like 1 or 2 good ones, but still not quite the quality I'm looking for. Either the front is in focus and the back isn't, or vice versa. I'm under the impression is has somthing to do with the open space in the middle because when I take pictures of solid objects they look amazing.

My camera is just a $400 Sony (DSC-P200), and I know this isn't quite the same quality of camera most of you guys are using, but I still think it should do the job. I just need a few tips on my technique and I also need to know the correct settings to set my camera to. I've checked the manual and it really doesn't address this type of problem. I do have the close-up setting on (SAF), but other than that I'm not sure what other settings will help. I'm hoping someone with a knowledge of sony cameras can give me a few tips. All other tips are welcome too!

The first picture is what I'm trying to achieve, and the 2nd picture is where I'm currently at. Please disregard the sloppy Photoshop whiteout job, I just did it real quick to use this for an example.

Pic1.jpg

Pic2.jpg

Hey... welcome aboard.

I think what you are struggling with is called "depth of field".

Check this out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_of_field