Help With Editing A Poor Quality Photo?

NeonFishnets

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay. First of all, as a newbie, I have NO idea if this is the right place to post this thread. So I'm really sorry if it is.

But! I do need some serious help. My dad's funeral is in a few days and the only late photo anybody can seem to find of him is him with my mom in a 5x7 disposable camera photo. I've tried everything I know how to do in Satan's editing program (Adobe Photoshop Elements 5.0), but I'm not too skilled.

Here's the photo:

Is this completely hopeless? Or are there certain tips and tricks I can use to make it better and bigger?

Or -even-, if anyone has the time, could they try to spruce it up for me?

I would really appreciate any help I can get. This means a lot.

What exactly do you want done to it?

I just want it cropped in on him and made a bit bigger so you can actually tell who it is. I've tried fixing the pixel resolution and stuff like that but I'm not too good at these things.

Anything I can do?

Well, having a shoulder there doesn't really bother anyone.

dad2editpn1.jpg

It's just the size and quality that's bugging me.

Well I am just starting out and am not very good, now I see your not worried about shoulder, I will try again.
dad2uo4.jpg

Actually, that's perfect. My mom said that it would work just fine.

Thanks so much for your help. I really appreciate it, more than you know :)

That is some very fine work there Dslrchat - though I think you might try blurring along the new arm and side that you added - they look a little to sharp when compared to the rest of the shot

Good job DSLRchat, dont think i could get anywhere near that good of a result.

I did this last night and by the time I was done the forum wouldnt load, so sorry its late

Photoshopped.jpg