Help with generating JPEG files from RAW files on SD card

DScience

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,

So I am still a beginner and a noob. I went on a road trip last week to see the redwood forests in Northern California. However I shot all my shots in RAW because that's what I usually do. Now that I think about it, I should have shot most of the 'snap shot' like photos in JPEG so I didn't have to go and edit all of them in post.

Now this might sound stupid, but I've never used any of the included software from Nikon. Is there anyway to import the RAW files on my SD cards and have the software convert them to JPEG as they would in camera, with "general camera edits" added to the photo?

I know how to convert to JPEG from RAW on my computer. But then they will just be the RAW file in a JPEG form with NO edits. Does this make sense?

Thanks a ton!

DScience

You should be able to do a batch process of all the raw photos to what ever parameters you select and convert them all to jpg. My question would be, WHY?

The purpose of shooting raw is to post process the photos yourself to get the best out of that photo, not have some machine with no brain and no understanding apply a bunch of set parameters to the photos.

If you want that to occur you might as well shoot in jpg mode.

You should be able to do a batch process of all the raw photos to what ever parameters you select and convert them all to jpg. My question would be, WHY?

The purpose of shooting raw is to post process the photos yourself to get the best out of that photo, not have some machine with no brain and no understanding apply a bunch of set parameters to the photos.

Thanks.

But I don't think you understood what I said.