help with portfolio creation

bluebora20v

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i'm interested in possibly putting together a simple portfolio and i'm looking for pointers since i've never done this before and have no idea what a good portfolio should be. all of my photography up to this point is digital. i shoot in b&w and in color. any information would be much appreciated. tia

Well, the way I did mine was:

First page was my contact info, and business card graphic. Then I started off with my best color still lifes (About 4) and one color portrait. Then, I moves on to my black and white stuff - 4 pages of randomness, then one B&W portrait. At the end I had the rest of my color stuff, and resume on the last page.

So far, it's worked pretty well, but I also get novelty points for being a 16 year old with a portfolio and a decent photo resume :p

i would recommend using 8x10s or 8x12s in your portfolio. it looks more impressive than small prints and each picture can dominate a page. to do it cheaply, i would get a nice binder and some plastic page sleeves. cut up some black paper to fit and attach your photos. or you could go to a craft supply store and get some scrapbooking materials. (just make sure everything is acid free.)

as far as order or any of that goes... i can't see it mattering too much. if you have series', keep them together, but put the photos in whatever order seems to make sense to you and what you want it to accomplish.

green said:
i would recommend using 8x10s or 8x12s in your portfolio. it looks more impressive than small prints and each picture can dominate a page. to do it cheaply, i would get a nice binder and some plastic page sleeves. cut up some black paper to fit and attach your photos. or you could go to a craft supply store and get some scrapbooking materials. (just make sure everything is acid free.)