Help with senior pictures

niccas9

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am not delusional about my skills and I totally understand that I am a noob hobbyist. That being said, I am doing a favor for a co-worker. She is has a son that is graduating soon and she opted out of getting senior pictures because of the costs associated. I told her that I have a decent camera and I am trying to learn how to take better portraits and I would take some shots of her son that she can use for senior pictures/announcements for free. I met with him once about two weeks ago and it wasn't as productive as I would have liked. A number of shots that I thought had some potential were ruined by ultra-messy hair, I also could not get him in a post that seemed natural. I will throw up a couple of the shots that I thought were salvageable but I need advice for natural posing please.

When giving CC please take into consideration that this is a free thing I am doing as a favor to try and gain some experience and I am not trying to act like a pro by any means. I am looking for useful tips that will help me gain some knowledge and produce some decent pictures that I can be proud to give to my co-worker for her son's graduation.

IMG_2001.JPG
IMG_2017.JPG
IMG_2074.JPG

First of all, what is the end-goal of the images? Do you want formal portraits, or casual shots?

Just looking at the images you've posted:

1. Missed focus = automatic throw-away. Watch your point of focus, and consider your aperture and camera to subject distance. In short, know your depth of field! Chain-link almost never makes a good background.

2. This isn't bad; nicely posed for a casual shot, focused and correctly exposed. Watch for things like his left elbow; give him some breathing room, the same with the left knee. If you need to crop limbs do boldly and NEVER through or near a joint.