Hi Everyone, New Here!

Markie Madden

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
metamorphpublishing.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I've just signed up and this is my first post! I'm a 40 year old disabled wife and mother of two. Cancer took me out of the traditional workforce two years ago, so now I've got more time to devote to a love of mine: writing. I'm an independent author and publisher.

Recently, we had some family friends visiting for 4th of July, and my old Kodak Easy Share decided to give up the ghost, more or less. It won't keep batteries in it for more than a day. Since my birthday was coming up, I bought myself a Canon Power Shot.

I took photography in high school and learned to love it (still, in fact, have my old Pentax!), so I've always enjoyed taking and sharing photos. But the world has changed a lot now, and though my camera isn't high-end, I'm here to see what I can learn. I use a program called Paint.net to manipulate images, for advertising my books and just cropping of everyday photos. I'm still learning the ins and outs of it as well. But I'd love to get into conversations about cleaning up camera "noise", proper framing when shooting a picture, and so on. It's been a long time since high school and I'm sure I'll be bugging the (bleep) out of everyone for a while! Just fair warning! ;)

Welcome to TPF

You'll find many only happy to help

Thanks jaomul! I've also just invested in a 2tb external hard drive for my tablet. My writing software (can't live without that) takes up a lot of space by itself and I was shooting, oh about 60-70 pics a day with the new camera! Only keeping the best, of course!

But digital photography isn't the same as old-school film photography!