Hi from Canada's Capital

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by groan, Apr 2, 2012.

1. groan

groan TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey all, I'm Marc from Ottawa

I started shooting back in '82 with my first SLR (I wont count my days with the 126 and 110 film cameras) which was a Nikon FG.
    Since then I migrated to the FE which served me for a LONG time.
    My first AF was the Nikon F-501. This also lasted me a long time.
    I got into shooting portraits and weddings, picked up a Bronica medium format, and also worked at a couple of portrait studios.
    I sold the lot when I found myself just not shooting much. This was shortly after I left my college Photography course for a full-time gig. (Stupid move!!!)

I got into marine fish keeping and wanted to take better shots than my compacts were affording me. I picked up a refurbished Rebel XT and had fun with that for a while. My lust returned. I had to have more.

Enter the D90, 10-20 Sigma etc (see my sig) with the initial intention to shoot real estate.
    Since shooting real estate as a part time gig is difficult to get going i sat on my gear for a while.

Rekindled by a video by Thomas Shahan
    An Introduction to High-Magnification Macro Photography - YouTube
    I decided to pick up a Macro lens and fashion a macro lighting setup and get back into it.
    Also the job I do now (software support) is not fun anymore, wait, make that was ever, and i need a change.

I am hoping to get back into it and work towards shooting part time, initially and then moving full time if money enables me to do so. (Any Canadians out there doing this? Let's chat!) Portraits, estate, collections, etc (please no weddings!)