Highschool-Senior Portrait Prices?

LittleMan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sorberaguitars.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am going to do some Senior Portraits for my friend this week.
He said he would pay me. But I'm not going to charge him any other than my film/printing costs. (because it's my first time and he's my friend)

I was just wondering how much the rate is usually for a Senior portrait photoshoot. (maybe around 3-4 hours) What would you have to pay to get a professional photog to do a 3 hour long photo shoot?

Thanks!
-Chris

3-4 hours would be a very long shoot for seniors. Mine usually last one and a half hours and that includes a few clothing changes. Typically I see my packages by prints vs. a pay for hour service. Are you going to be printing the photos or just turning over the negatives to the clients to print their own?

AlisonPower said:
3-4 hours would be a very long shoot for seniors. Mine usually last one and a half hours and that includes a few clothing changes. Typically I see my packages by prints vs. a pay for hour service. Are you going to be printing the photos or just turning over the negatives to the clients to print their own?
I don't know what to expect, since this is my first time doing anything like this. Although I have shot portraits before and I know how, I have never charged anyone.

I am going to be shooting both digital and film by request of the client. Now, whether I charge him per hour and just give him the negatives and let him do the printing or I sit down with him afterwards picking out the few he likes the most and charging him per-photo... which would be better? Or is there an even better way other than that?

I am just starting out on this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!