Holga Questions

McQueen278

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I just bought my first Holga and I had a quick question. I've never used 120 film before and before I open the package, do I need to load and unload in a darkroom/darkroom bag? After reading the instructions, I'm still unsure. Thanks in advance!

P.S. Any other Holga advice is welcome!

Congratulations on your new camera!

No, you don't need to change the film in a changing bag, but it is best to do it in subdued light. Direct sunlight will flash the film through the paper backing.

Put a piece of black masking tape over the counter window. Direct sunlight hitting this window will also flash the film. Remove the tape when advancing the film, but again, this should be done in subdued light. If you can't advance the film in the shade, use your body to to shield the camera from the direct sun.

Other advice? You know that little switch on the camera, indicating 2 apertures, sunny and cloudy? Don't bother with it. The camera has only one aperture. Due to a peculiar design defect, the switch actuates an arm that has a larger square aperture that sits in front of the smaller aperture. The net effect is.... no change. If you want to mod your camera to add a useful second aperture, there are several do-it-yourself solutions out there, or you can buy a pre-modified camera from Randy at holgamods.com

The Holga likes ISO 400 films. You can use slower film in bright sunlight.

Before shooting, make sure the camera is set to I, not B (bulb), unless you intend to shoot time exposures.

Don't forget to wind the film after each exposure.

Make sure that you have the counter window set for the correct frame insert. 12 if you are using the square insert, 16 if you are using the rectangular insert.

For more helpful hints, check out www.squarefrog.co.uk.

I also have a few tips at my website.