Honest Opinion

Why is presenting a hand unflattering? Is it? She has nice hands, slim fingers...

Hands are o.k., just that this particular pose shows the hand very prominently, nearly the same size as her face, therefore competing with her face.

I am not aware of any "rule", just my own observation.

i have fixed up the two images

1. $_MG_8454.jpg

2. $_MG_6923.jpg

Number 1 suffers from brain amputation, an amputated elbow and skin that is too pale, washed out?, and losing detail. The bright flares in the background are also distracting. In the second one, a blurred foreground is generally avoided by almost all portrait photographers.

Agree with Cowgirl too, #1 just doesn't look right with the color, #2, is just not composed right to be awesome.

I was playing with it a bit with a B&W copy.I removed the bright bokeh and some of the fly away hair. I brought down the exposure a notch and up on the contrast very little and got this. I have very little experience with this so was just a shot.

Attachments

• $_MG_8454.jpg
    $_MG_8454.jpg
    35 KB · Views: 74
Last edited:
Am I the only person who thinks she missed the focus on #1? It seems to be on her hand no? Possibly just the one side of her face. The other is too OOF.

I like #2 though.

Am I the only person who thinks she missed the focus on #1? It seems to be on her hand no? Possibly just the one side of her face. The other is too OOF..

Looking at it closely you are correct. The focus is more in her shoulder area than on her face. Her hand is washed out somewhat so it is hard to tell focus in that area.

C&C per request: