How did I do on this conversion?

Maggedy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
First of all, I am a total noob to PS and my pp skills suck. But I loved the emotion in this shot (and several others from the same time frame) so I am determined to figure out how to enhance it. The first version is basically SOOC, the second after I messed around with it in LR and PS. Am I on the right track?

And how could I have gotten a better shot in the first place? The light was waning, I was shooting the 135L wide open and not very close to my subjects. If anyone feels inclined to comment on how I could have lit this better, much appreciated!

You could have used flash (strobed light) rather than having to push the exposure in post processing.

On camera flash would have worked, but off camera flash could have made a near professional looking image that not only lit the subjects but also made them 'pop'. Flash would also have better conveyed the time of day the image was made compared to the edit you have had to do.

The adjustments you made here are called global adjustments. If you increase brightness globally, everything
in frame gets brightened. One of the great powers of Photoshop is that it allows you do make local adjustments ...
brighten/darken the image here without changing it there.

If you learn to work with layers and masks,
you can do that. Lots of tutorials available, many of them free. Here's an example of what you can do if you use
layers and masks ...

hugsg.jpg