How did you learn Photoshop?

JonathanNYC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So i see lots of photogs on this site, how did you learn Photoshop? Don't tell me its self taught, b/c i've had it for years ever since it was Photoshop 4.0 so i've used it for some time. what i really want to know is how did you learn to use it properly? I can edit a picture and piece together something, but mastering it? you either read a book, someone showed you (class) or there must be some secret! teach me wise ones! how did you learn CS5?!

well, I got the basics back in 2000 in design school, learned on Photoshop 3.0 if I remember correctly but that was a lifetime ago. I'm a designer for a living so 8+ hours a day every day gets you pretty familiar with the new features each time a new version comes out. But even doing it for a living, there's always something new to learn from video tutorials on lynda.com and youtube. Any time you want to know how to do something, go to youtube and search for it. There are squeaky voice 12 year old kids who know EVERYTHING and are more than happy to brag about knowing it.

If you want to be entertained while learning some pretty cool features you've probably never used before, search for "you suck at photoshop", they're hilarious tutorials.

I can place the key to my getting better at PS to one book - and that was Masking and Compositing by Katrin Eismann. It introduced me to selection in a big way and, without the ability to select, PS is only LR.
As I read that book, I began to look more critically on what I needed/wanted to change within my pictures and that drove me to learn specific techniques in various ways.