How do I approach hospital nursery to advertise and offer service?

robyn_fresh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am an amateur photographer (although my official employment is with Sears Portrait Studio) and have been thinking about starting my own private photography business just to bring in some extra cash, and because I love it.

I recently had a baby at the hospital here in town and when I asked if someone would be coming in to take pictures for me, they stated that they had nobody that does that. I am thinking that if I make myself a portfolio; then I could use this to approach new moms and dad's in the hospital nursery setting and offer my services for in the hospital newborn pictures.

I think that this would, if nothing else, get me a little advertising and word of mouth business. I would assume that if I just come in as a visitor and offer my services to the new parents; I will get in troubles with the hospital staff. Does anyone know the best way to approach the hospital about this idea? Can I just come in as a visitor and offer my services?

I would make an appt with the hospital administrator and/or the nurse manager for the L&D unit itself. Hospitals will not take kindly to you just walking in and offering services to take pics of patients' babies without contacting them first. Likewise, I don't think new parents would let some stranger come in and take pics of their baby without the hospitals' backing. There are huge privacy laws involved etc. I say this because I am a nurse and I know how we hospital people think.

I would get a portfolio together, maybe advertise some free sessions on craigslist of newborn photography to build up your stash, then bring it in and see what they have to say.

I also think that it depends on your region-I am live Oregon and here, newborn photography in the hospital is unheard of.

Great idea though, I'd say go for it just have your "ducks in a row"...