How do i do this?

lemonart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I am taking this astronomy class and I have to take multiple pictures of the moon in different phases in a slightly darker than dusk sky.

I'm assuming I may have to do multiple exposures (one for moon one for landscape). Anyhow I've never done this before. Any help on how to execute this would be appreciated. At the end I need to hand in a single landscape with multiple moons (ie. one picture)

Gear I'm planning to use:

D7000
Tokina 11-16
Perhaps my 70-300 telephoto
Tripod

Just expose for the moon and forget the sky which will look dark as a result of the bright moon. If your camera does multiple exposure take half a dozen shots, 15 minutes apart. Make sure there is enough room to get them all in as the moon moves from left to right.

Yes, one image you will expose for and focus on the moon, in the next you can expose and focus on your landscape. Then merge the 2, via layers.

You combine the several photos using image editing software like Photoshop or GIMP, using layer masks. The moon is about 250,000 miles away so you do not need a small lens aperture to get deep DoF.

Your 11-16 would be useless if you want the moon to have an scale in the image so the actual moon phase can be seen.

Next is understanding that the moon is reflecting sunlight and is very much brighter than a slightly darker than dusk sky. While you can capture the moon's phase, you will not be able to capture moon surface details and dark landscape details. The dynamic range will be to great for your image sensor to capture.

Next is understanding that when the moon is new, it is very near the western horizon at sunset (or close to the sun), and sets about 52 minutes late each subsiquent night. At full moon, the moon rises on the eastern horizon at sunset, just as the sun is setting on the western horizon.
If you think about it you'll soon realize the moon can only be full at that time.