How does my video color look?

harmonica

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an aspiring filmmaker, and trying to get the best looking movie looks possible. I have come up with one that is good to use for a variety of types of looks. I did it in camera. I have the Canon T2i, and they don't have much dynamic range for post color grading since they capture the data at H.264. So I figure it's best to get closer to the look you want in camera, so you don't have to push it as far in post.

Here's a look I have come up with in camera, which I would like to use as a more general look, in case the client has a more specific request, or in case I want to do something different for my own projects. Which of these two looks is better? It's the same look, I just changed the contrast by one notch in each. Pick the best of the two from the examples in the video:

Thanks for input, people!

Last edited by a moderator:
what "look"?

the angry, one-eye-closed, double-chin look?

You describe one look, but there's like 10 different lighting situations; the first being the only one that looks good to me.

As fasr as the "0" "-1", I think it's plain to see there's absolutely no difference between the settings.

Last edited:
I cant really tell the difference between -1 and 0 myself. Maybe side by side i might be able to see the difference so that being said is it really that big of a change?

Note: i don't know anything about anything it just my 2 cents.

What kind of editing software do you have access to?

I have Premiere Pro. I could try to split screen it.

I have Premiere Pro. I could try to split screen it.

Try using the 3 way color corrector to adjust colors. I always like to keep the WB the same on the camera then go in and adjust the color to fit the desired end result. I NEVER use any of the cameras filters or effects. It's easier to add that stuff in post than it is to remove it.