How far is too far?

I am a total noob at photoshop but I know enough to know it can be pretty much the same as working in a darkroom I really think alot of the people who take the "post-processing is a cop-out" are either trying to be elitists or have no experience with darkroom work. I have done alot of B+W printing and really enjoyed the whole process, from adding contrast with filters to different exposures and crops to dodging and burning and everything else that goes into making a great print in a darkroom I have personally just come to the realization that using post-processing with digital is pretty much the same thing and as I said in my last post it can be done badly and when it is it looks really bad but it can be done well and when it is all it does is bring out the greatness in an already great photograph.

I think you cross the line when the photograph no longer looks natural. Ansel Adams did amazing amounts of dodging and burning on his prints but the result was always credible. No, that sky didn't exist when he made the exposure but a sky like that might have existed at another time. Manipulated to be sure but still credible. I like it to be credible too.

If I could step back twenty years I wouldn't do any post processing. I didn't back then. very little anyway. The photo lab did it all for me and I never had a problem with it. Too dark... Too light... Too red or too blue wasn't an issue.. somebody else fixed it.

Now you do things simply because you can. Sometimes we lose sight of the image in all the tweaks. I believe if you shoot a strong image a lot of this so called tweaking is just bs. I hear the sky is blown out a lot around here. That just doesn't bother me as much as it does some people here. My mindset is still in the time when you exposed for what was important and the devil take the rest.