How many times a month should I do a contest to promote my business?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How many photographers do contests where their client may recieve 10% off or more on their shoot? How many times a month should I do it where I don't really loose money but i'm not loosing clients either? Where do photographers get their pricing? I'm kinda new at the business aspect of it so i'm not sure how much to charge. I dont want to charge too much where clients wont come but at the same time I would like to make something of it and not loose money. I'm not stingy when it comes to money because I like having clients say I have good prices and they would refer me to their friends, but I would like to move up on my prices to be able to make a profit and build my business by buying props and advanced equitment. What do ya'll suggest?

These aren't really questions anyone but you can answer. You get your pricing by calculating how much it costs for you to operate your business + make whatever profit you wish to earn. Having "good prices" is not really something you'll want people to say when they hear your name... You'll get stuck with "stingy" clients that will disappear in anger the day you raise your prices. Most people see a photographer that charges $100 and one that charges $1000 and without even looking at their work will automatically assume the guy charging $1000 is exponentially better than the one charging $100.

Another thing you need to keep in mind when pricing yourself is that most people simply can't tell the difference between a good photograph and a great photograph... A lot of people earning big bucks in the photography world aren't doing it because they're great photographers, they're doing it because they are perceived to be due to the ability to market themselves as such.