How much to charge for photo's used in Advertising?

shorty97

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

I have been approached by a professional sports person to use one of my images in his advertisements on websites.
He didn't offer me any money, but i am hesitant to give it away when it is to be used in a commercial platform.

Please bear in mind i am a amateur photographer and photography is presently just a hobby.

I would appreciate anybody's views or opinions on whether or not i should charge and if so how much?

Thanks

Ask him if he would be willing to agree to placing a link to YOUR website on his with credit for the photograph, if not, at no cost to him then you have MY reply.

Watch this video - F*ck you, pay me - a must see for professionals in web design - JoomlaWorks

A credit is essentially worthless even to pro photographers. The sports person is counting on you being flattered so they can use your photo to keep their income rolling in, for free.
Plus the websites he/she would be advertising on may not allow a link to your web site, or a photo credit.
Basically, they want to take advantage of you.

A commercial photographer would sell a use license, and a commercial photographer in the US would register the photo copyright ASAP. If the professional sports person is in an AU sport and has a world-wide reputation, then it might be a good idea to register the copyright in the US too.

The photo used on one web site at up to 400 x 400 pixels would be $35 for 3 months of use. Over 400 px and up to 600 x 600 px would be $50 for 3 months of use.

As an example, if the customer wants to use the photo at up to 400 x 400 pixels on 6 web sites for 1 year - $35 times 4 quarters times 6 web sites = $840 a year.
For many professional sports persons $840 is a very small amount.