How much to charge ??

fabioftc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a Student of photography in New York , and my my neighbor is building a online store of jewelry .
He asked me to take a pictures and post on his website.
I need help in knowing how much should i charge him ?
How can I charge him , by hour, by item, picture ?
Please give me idea as follows:

Hour:$$
Items:$$
Bulk:$$
I never done this before but I kind like the idea .
Also to get I would like to get better idea How many good pictures ready to be upload on a site. can be done in one hour . this way i will know how am I doing ?
i am used to take landscape shots, and I have a D60 nikon. is that a good camera for jewelry?

if so what , what kind lens should i used?

so please help with any suggestion .

Thank you
Fabio

Last edited:
You're thinking as a complete amateur here.

This is the most common mistake with beginners. Don't just think about price, the more you do this the les you will be listening to your client.

First find out exactly what you are dealing with, everything he wants, so how long you will be there, how long you will have to spend post processing, does he want prints?

Then once you have that figured out, work out how much it will cost you. (Forget about your time for now, just the money you will have to pay out. ) If your going to buy a new lens purely for this, don't charge him the full amount for it. You will gain that back with other jobs.

Once you've got that worked out, have a price for your time, now as you're a beginner, this shouldn't be much, probably about 5-10 dollars per hour.

Then give him a quote, so your price for money you have to spend + time.

I hope this helps.

Thank you Shaneuk i will follow your advice.

my client offer me $ 2.50 for each item . since i am beginner I don,t if is a good price.
The good think is I can earn a portofollio which is good for me .
if I take for item I was thinking to do like 4 item per hour.