How Much To Charge?

dmccarty10

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.davidmccartyphoto.com
I had someone log onto my photo website and request the price of an 11x14" print of one of my shots.

While, I'm not a professional photographer, I am a highly-paid Creative Director for a national ad agency. I understand the value of art. However, I'm not sure what the "going rate" might be for a decent print.

I'm thinking $150.

What would you suggest?

Thats probably a fair price. I see prices from $50 on up. I think that if this is a digital print, the price should be on the lower side.

I agree, a digital print should be less, and you must know that the inks are archival and the paper, top-grade.

Also, were you planning on shipping the print matted, with a foam core backing (ie, ready to frame)? I think that not only adds a professional touch, but adds value to your price.

I am an up coming phtograoher and i want to do freelance work, please tell me how much should i charge as a new photographer

I would not print it myself, but would have it printed professionally.
But why would a digital print be less? I art direct $100k photoshoots and we do everything digitally. Are you speaking of digital vs. film, or how it's printed?

I wouldn't sell it for less than $150. Frankly, it's not worth my time. I guess I was just wondering if you thought it was too low.

The image is black and white. Nice tonal range. Slightly warm. The shot is a portrait of an 82 year old nun standing on a surfboard at the edge of the water on a beach in New Jersey.

I would also have it matted and backed.

But why would a digital print be less? I art direct $100k photoshoots and we do everything digitally. Are you speaking of digital vs. film, or how it's printed?