How to Deal with Concert Venues Taking Advantage of Photographers

Kauz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I'm a photographer on a large college campus. I've posted in a bunch of places, and depending on where the day takes me I'm covering news, sports, concerts, lifestyle, whatever I can to fill time and have something to do. Lately, however, there's a problem with a local concert venue who is taking advantage of aspiring photographers.

By this I mean, they give photographers restricted access like any press photographer, and expect them to turn in a product in jpeg format by 5pm the next day. Doesn't sound bad, right? The only problem is, they're essentially taking aspiring (often bad) photographers, asking them to shoot for free, promising at most an extra ticket (or even free drinks for the photographer and +1) and often, if not almost always, not following through on the deal.

I don't say this to brag, but looking over the numerous photographers they tap into, I would say that I turn out the best, most reliable product. Because of this, I asked if we could come up with a licensing and payment agreement, and was promptly left by the wayside. Now I'm hearing from more and more photographers who are getting fed up with their practices.

The fact remains that they can continually tap into a seemingly unlimited base of photographers (going deeper and deeper into a shallow talent pool), photographers who amount to kids with a DSLR and a Facebook page, and in doing so, get free publicity and product.