How to improve these stainless steel jewelry photos?

fotorama

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I want to photograph stainless steel jewelry. I am a beginner. I am using a Sony Alpha 200 with a 2.8 / 100 macro lense. I have set F to 16, S to 0.4" - 2". Here is my setup:

P1000724 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
P1000722 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
P1000721 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
P1000720 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

I have done the following pictures:

DSC00069 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
DSC00083 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
DSC00082 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
DSC00111 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Here I took plexiglas and lighted it up from beneath:

DSC00116 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
DSC00118 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

How can I have my pictures look like this:

MENS 316L Silver Gold Stainless Steel Necklace Chain | eBay
Size7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Silver CZ Stainless Steel Wedding Ring Unisex VE393 | eBay
UNIQUE Blue Stainless Steel RING Necklace Pendant vj905 | eBay

I suspect I am doing the lighting wrong. Mabe someone has some tips or websites(I also googled some).
Many thanks.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
First you need to put a card between the 2 soft boxes overhead so that it fills more. You can stick the rings and other items that want to roll with some wax....the kind they use for floral arrangements, one brand id called stickum. You can shoot a little flat and fix it in post and won't as much trouble with your lighting.

Many thanks for the fast reply. I am german, so my english is not the best. What do you mean by "... put a card between ..."? What material is this card made of?

Use a white piece of cardboard '''illustration board. You can also drape white paper over the tops of the light boxes..... you want to "tent" the jewelry.