How to price my services?

colormesilly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a somewhat medium size business interested in using my photography services for photographing items for brochures. However they want me to come up with a "per item" fee. I'd rather charge an hourly rate but I'm an amateur as far pricing my services.

I was thinking $3 per item? With a minimum of 5 items per session, ya know, so I can make money, not loose it through paying for gas to get there. And I was also thinking of a special fee, where if they needed me to take a photo on short notice of like one item; Maybe $12.

Oh and they want me to invoice my services too. Anyone know anything about that as well?

I'm not all too sure, that's why I came to ask people who have been in this situation. Much appreciation for any input! :)

However they want me to come up with a "per item" fee. I'd rather charge an hourly rate but I'm an amateur as far pricing my services.
How many items would you normally shoot in an hour? Take the hourly rate you want to charge and there you have your per item rate.

You will also have to consider their usage of the image. Are you giving them the rights to the images forever after? Or for one year, or for one publication?

I was thinking $3 per item? With a minimum of 5 items per session,
:scratch: I have no idea what you are shooting or how you work...but unless you missed a zero or two...there is a problem there.

I will be shooting gift items for brochures. These brochures will be mainly for companies that want to offer their employees gifts for working at the company for 10+ years and so on.
I plan on leaving full copyrights to them.
As for how many items I will be shooting, I'm not sure at this time so it's hard for me price it.