I am a beginner. What is the simplest, cheapest, and safest way to develop film?

bsap

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a student, trying to learn to work with film and development. I've set up a small darkroom in my closet, and have been printing passable photos. However, I'm not yet developing my own film, which is costing me time and money. The issue is that I'm sharing an apartment with two other people, and the only sinks we have are shared in the bathroom and the kitchen. In the past, when I've developed film (in schools and other official darkrooms), I've dumped the chemical waste down an official chemical sink, or in a designated bucket that is then taken away to some unknown location. Furthermore, there has been a designated developing area, where chemical spillage is accepted. In my case, I have no good area to handle chemicals in, and I'm not sure where I could dispose of them once I'm finished. So, I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions about simple and safe film developing techniques for shared living spaces?
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Edit: Ok, so the consensus is that I can dump the chemicals down the drain, no problem. Now, the sink I would use would be the kitchen sink, which we also use for food and dishes and such. I'm wondering, is there a specific way I should clean the sink so as to not risk getting leftover chemicals on my food or dishes? Or, should I not use a sink and just use my bathtub? Is that safer?

Last edited:
I've been dumping the chem's down the household drain for 40 years and other then a slight irregular twitch and some 3 eyed fish in the river, there's been no side effects < kidding about the second part>. I don't know if it makes a difference, but I always dump the used fixer and stop bath into the developer. Maybe wishful thinking it'll neutralize each other:confused:
Unless you are tray developing, load your daylight tank in the closet and do your developing at the kitchen or bathroom sink

Last edited:
+1