I am new to SLR photography. Need beginers help please.

Harpua

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.fotki.com
Hi Everyone. First time poster here. I am new to the world of SLR photography. I had been using a Nikon Coolpix 990 for years. I bought one within the first month that it came out in the US. I took a lot of great shots with it and was very please with that camera for years, but felt I was getting frustrated at the lack of control I had. I basically used it on full auto mode, but knew I could (eventually) do much better if I went the SLR fully manual route.

I went out and bought myself the Nikon D70S kit. I know I could have probably done just as well with the D50 or another camera, but I have high hopes of learning and using every aspect of this camera eventually. Right now I am feeling a bit overwhelmed though so I am hoping you fine folks can give me some help and point me in the right direction. Here is what I am looking for...

I would love to find information (to start with) on shutter speed, aperature, and fstop settings. I know the basics (very basic) such as the smaller the fstop, the larger the aperature is and the more light will pass through. What I think I am struggling with though is knowing what setting to use when. For instance, if I know I want a small fstop then how would I know exactly which one to use. Would I want to go right to f 1.4 or could I use f 2 or f 2.8 or even something higher? Same question goes for shutter speed. How would I know when to use 1/500th over 1/1000th?

I have a million more questions, but this is the first one I wanted to tackle because I think it is what I need to understand first in order to start using this camera the right way.

Thanks so much for any help you can give me!

Hit the library get a book on it.

Shoot a lot. It will come eventually.

Search google on "exposure basics" "photography basics" "Beginner photography" "aperture explained"