i can zoom in and out with large format?

denada

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i'm a snapshot photographer and know just enough to know i don't know. i know that when you switch film size, all your dof instincts are out the window. i'm using 4x5. i wanna mimic sally mann's bathroom mirror self portrait and don't have a loop (today; i live in the city without a car and i don't wanna go downtown for one thing). is that a no go? it looks like she has less light than me and she did it on 8x10 or something old and huge. so i'm trying to move further away so i get enough dof to shoot at an aperture i can hold still long enough at. cause i think i need to do this at at least f22? but then i realized my camera zooms in and out when i move the back? am i altering the focal length of the lens. well obviously not, but what am i doing? if i move further away and then zoom in i must be reducing the dof i gained by moving further away, right? like switching lenses even though the lens stays the same? wtf is happening?

it looks like i can push hp5 to 3200 with ilfosol 3 and still get a clean-ish image at laptop screen sizes?

Last edited:
Sounds like a great project to do. I don't think you need to worry too much about DOF on your version. The lighting is more important.
Take shots at different settings and just look at the differences. Only change one setting at a time so you can follow the changes, i.e.: different apertures, different focal lengths (zoom setting on your lens, etc.).

thanks. that's the plan. i like that answer a lot more than "read a book." i wanna take a picture but every step i take toward doing so i realize how many more factors there are than what i'm used to. like picking up a super 8 and suddenly realizing everything changes throughout your shot.

edit: