I can't identify this lens. Can you?

jastang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I found a zoom lens that is in really good shape at a thrift store for 10 bucks. It's an 80/205mm zoom lens and is apparently made by "Kenlock-Mctor". (It also has a number on around the rim of the lens: 808574)

I am a beginning photography student and I thought I would pick it up just to have one more variable to use when I'm taking snapshots and learning about light, etc.

This lens doesn't mount to my Nikkon N-70 and I can't find out what other common mounting types there are that it could be. Unfortunately I don't have a digital camera or I'd post a pic. I can try to make a sketch of what the flange looks like if someone thinks they can tell me what it is meant to fit. I think it's obvious that Kenlock is not a big lens manufacturer, but this lens seems to be more substantial and solid than my "Pheonix" and "Aspherical" lenses that came with my camera.

Welcome to the forum.

I have a Kenlock filter. Are you maybe looking at a filter on the front of the lens?

It may be a Canon FD mount, or a Pentax mount...or something else. It doesn't fit your Nikon, so it's not a Nikon Mount...which probably means it's useless to you.

There should be a marking on the camera side, near the lens mount. Read the markings to us. (i.e. type them) P/K = Pentax K mount. There are others.

It is odd that you bought this lens assuming it would fit...

There should be a marking on the camera side, near the lens mount. Read the markings to us. (i.e. type them) P/K = Pentax K mount. There are others.

It is odd that you bought this lens assuming it would fit...

No, I didn't assume it would fit, I hoped it would fit. And for ten bucks I was willing to take the chance. I'm sure there are more camera bodies in my future and maybe they won't all be Nikons.