I got a D3200 Nikon DSLR for Xmas!!

snapsnap1973

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I was actually not really into photography for a while, but I occasionally take some pics with my Canon sx280 (which sucks cause half the time it doesn't turn on, etc).

Anyways, my Mom got me the D3200 for Xmas and I think it comes with 2 lens, the 18-55 and the something-200mm I think off hand. I just got it today and haven't even had time to open the box. I think she made a good choice seeing she knows NOTHING about photography (I don't really either), but somehow she knew to get me a DSLR.

I wasn't excited at first, (although I had to act that way on Xmas and it was REALLY nice of her to get me it of course), but I'm actually pretty excited now! Like I said, I haven't been really into photography lately as I'm really a classical guitarist most of the time as a hobby, but I do like taking pictures occasionally, especially in the summer.

I mostly like landscape things, etc and portraits too. So, I had a though about upgrading to the D5200, but now have decided that it's not worth it for me. It only took me a couple hours and reading a few reviews, etc. So is this D3200 a good choice for someone like me? I'm pretty convinced and really don't have the money, nor really the desire to upgrade. I'd rather try my hand at learning how to use the darned thing first!

Anyways, I'm now pretty excited about having a DSLR finally! I've only had Ponit and shoots up until now. Hopefully I can learn to use the thing and take some nice photos!

Comments welcome thanks :)

Very nice. It only gets more expensive from here. lol

So is this D3200 a good choice for someone like me?

Yes, it is an excellent choice. With the two included lenses, you will have lots of fun getting to know it. Be sure to give your mom plenty of pictures. You should tell her not to bother getting them all printed and hung, just wait until the good ones start coming.